TABLE OF CONTENTS

1.	Declaration of Opening	2
2.	Swearing in of Councillors	2
3.	Election	2
	a. Shire President	2
	b. Deputy Shire President	2
4.	Record of Attendance / Apologies / Leave of Absence (Previously Approved)	2
5.	Response to Previous Public Questions Taken on Notice	3
6.	Public Question Time	3
7.	Petitions/Deputations/Presentations/Submissions	3
8.	Reports of Officers	4
	8.1.1 Committees and Representations	4
9.	New Business of an urgent nature introduced by discussion of the meeting	6
10.	Closure of Meeting.	6

SHIRE OF BRUCE ROCK

MINUTES – SPECIAL MEETING 21 OCTOBER 2021

1. Declaration of Opening

The Chief Executive Officer, Mr Darren Mollenoyux, opened the meeting at 10.00am on Thursday 21 October 2021, welcoming all Councillors, Councillors Elect, Officers and guests.

2. Swearing in of Councillors

The Chief Executive Officer invited newly elected Councillors, Councillor Elect BJ Waight, Councillor Elect R Rajagopalan, Councillor Elect J Verhoogt and Councillor Elect NC Kilminster to make their "Declaration of Office" in front of Mr Graeme Currie, Justice of the Peace.

3. Election

a. Shire President

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for Shire President.

Cr Waye nominated Cr Strange, Seconded Cr Rajagopalan

Cr Strange accepted the nomination

There being no further nominations Cr Strange was elected President for a term expiring 21 October 2023 and he then made the Declaration of Office in front of GJ Currie JP.

b. Deputy Shire President

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for Deputy Shire President.

One nomination was received prior to the meeting. Cr Anthony Crooks nominated himself for Deputy Shire President.

Cr Kilminster nominated Cr Rajagopalan, Seconded Cr Strange.

The CEO conducted an election and Cr Crooks was elected Deputy President for a term expiring in 21 October 2023 and he then made the Declaration of Office in front of GJ Currie JP.

Shire President, welcomed all guests and thanked them for their attendance.

Cr Strange congratulated Cr Verhoogt on her election and Cr Crooks to his new position of Deputy Shire President.

4. Record of Attendance / Apologies / Leave of Absence (Previously Approved)

Councillors Cr SA Strange

Cr R Rajagopalan Cr AR Crooks Cr KP Foss Cr NK Kilminster Cr PG Negri Cr J Verhoogt Cr BJ Waight Cr RA Waye

Chief Executive Officer Mr DRS Mollenoyux

Deputy Chief Executive Officer Mr A O'Toole
Manager of Finance Mrs JL Bow
Executive Assistant (Minute Taker) Mrs MJ Schilling
Justice of the Peace Mr Graeme Currie

Public Gallery: Miss Caris Negri, Mrs Elizabeth Waight, Mrs Amanda Rajagopalan

- 5. Response to Previous Public Questions Taken on Notice
- 6. Public Question Time
- 7. Petitions/Deputations/Presentations/Submissions

8. Reports of Officers

8.1 Chief Executive Officer

Agenda Reference and Subject:

8.1.1 Committees and Representations

File Reference:

Reporting Officer: Darren Mollenoyux Chief Executive Officer

Disclosure of Interest: Nil

Attachments:

Summary

Council is asked to review and appoint its representation on Council Committees and delegates to other organisations.

Background

Every second year following an election Council reviews the attached structure for Committees, Delegates and Representatives.

Comment

Council Elections were held on 16th October it is now recommended that Council appoint Councillors and staff to the various committees, delegates and representatives.

Consultation Nil

Statutory Implications Nil

Policy Implications Nil

Financial Implications Nil

Strategic Implications

Shire of Bruce Rock – Strategic Community Plan 2013-2023

Civic Leadership

4.1.2 – Manage the organisation in a responsible and accountable manner.

Voting Requirements

Simple Majority

OFFICER RECOMMENDATION AND COUNCIL DECISION

Resolution SM Oct 21 - 8.1.1

Moved: Cr Rajagopalan

Seconded: Cr Waye

That Council reviews and appoints the new Committees, Delegates and Representatives for Council. And;

That Council nominate Cr Strange for Great Eastern Zone and for State Council Representative for WALGA State Council and should they be unsuccessful be nominated as the Deputy.

Carried 9/0

Shire of Bruce Rock Committees, Delegates & Representatives As at 21 October 2021

Committees of Council				
Audit Committee	All Council			
Health	Cr Strange, Cr Kilminster, Cr Negri, CEO			
Aged Care	Cr Strange, Cr Rajagopalan, Cr Waye, CEO			
Works & Services	Cr Strange, Cr Waight, Cr Foss, Cr Crooks, CEO, WORKS			

Sub Com	mittees
ort & Recreation	Cr Strange, Cr Kilminster, Cr Waight,
	Cr Foss, CEO, CDO

Appointed – Delegates & Representatives					
Master of Ceremonies	Cr Crooks, Cr Rajagopalan				
WALGA Great Eastern Zone	Cr Strange, Cr Crooks, CEO				
WEROC	Cr Crooks, Cr Rajagopalan (Proxy), CEO, DCEO (Proxy)				
CEACA	Cr Rajagopalan, CEO				
Retirement Units Delegate	Cr Waye, Cr Kilminster (Proxy)				
Local Health Advisory Group	Cr Negri, Cr Crooks (Proxy), CEO				
District Health Advisory Group	Cr Negri				
Natural Resource Management	Cr Foss, Cr Negri, DCEO, NRMO				
Regional Road Group	Cr Foss, MWS, Cr Waight (Proxy)				
Chief Bush Fire Control Officer	Cr Crooks				
Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer	Cr Negri				
Community Resource Centre	Cr Verhoogt, Cr Kilminster (Proxy)				
Tourism	Cr Verhoogt, Cr Kilminster (Proxy)				
Central Agcare	Cr Negri, DCEO (Proxy)				

9.	New Business	of an ura	ent nature	introduce	d bv	discussion	of the	meeting.
----	---------------------	-----------	------------	-----------	------	------------	--------	----------

1	0.	Clo	sure	e of	M	eeting.
---	----	-----	------	------	---	---------

The Shire President, Cr Strange, thanked everyone for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 10.53am.
These minutes were confirmed at a meeting on
 Signed