SHIRE OF BRUCE ROCK

Minutes of the Annual Electors Meeting held in the Shire Administration Building Wednesday 9 December 2020 6pm

1. Declaration of Opening

The Shire President, Cr Strange, opened the meeting at 6.00pm welcoming everyone present.

2. Attendance

Cr Stephen Strange

Mr Darren Mollenoyux

Cr Ram Rajagopalan

Cr Ian Dolton

Cr Phillip Negri

Cr Rebecca Waye

Cr Natalie Kilminster

Cr Kevin Foss

Cr Tony Crooks

Cr Brendan Waight

Mrs Karen Arnold

Mrs Jen Shearing

Mr Graeme Shearing

Mr Graeme Currie

Mr John McGellin

Mrs Jennifer Bow

Mrs Melissa Schilling

Mr Alan O'Toole (Minutes)

Apologies

Mrs Karen Strange

Mrs Amanda Rajagopalan

3. Confirmation of Minutes of Previous Meeting

The minutes of the previous Electors Meeting held on Tuesday 12 February 2019 were presented by the Shire President, Cr Stephen Strange.

MEETING DECISION

Moved: Cr Ian Dolton

Seconded: Cr Natalie Kilminster

That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Electors held on Tuesday 12 February 2019 be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Carried

4. Business Arising from Previous Meeting Minutes Telstra Outages and battery back-up capacity etc.

The Shire President, Cr Stephen Strange, gave an update on what has happened regarding this issue in the period since the last Electors Meeting. Representatives from both Local Government and DFES have been very active in keeping this problem to the forefront of Telstra's attention. As a result, Telstra has now "come to the table" at the State level to address the problems experienced in the regions with insufficient battery back-ups and generators in the event of outages. There was a joint meeting recently, and there is a further meeting to be held in Wyalkatchem this week to continue

the discussion. Telstra have suggested a pilot program of generators being made available in selected towns, and also have committed to supplying improved capacity and duration batteries to all other towns.

CEACA and Aged Independent Living Units

The CEO, Darren Mollenoyux informed electors that all but two of the Shire's CEACA units are now occupied, with the two that are vacant being the "Platinum" disabled access units.

5. Receiving of Annual Report for the year ending 30 June 2019

MEETING DECISION

Moved: Cr Brendan Waight Seconded: Mr Graeme Currie

That the Annual Report, including Audited Financial Statements for the period ending 30 June 2019

be accepted.

Carried

6. General Business

There being no other general business, the CEO, Mr Mollenoyux gave an update on developments relating to the building of a new supermarket for the Shire. The land on the Mason's site is in the process of being acquired for the development, and a retail consultant has been engaged to advise and assist with the process of finding a suitable business to occupy the new premises once built. A Request for Quotation has been opened with regard to design and project management of the building once all the required permissions etc. have been secured. It is likely that construction etc. will cost less than was originally estimated, but at this early stage it is to soon to say what the final costs will be. Cr Strange referred to the development as "generational" and therefore it is imperative that the process is managed correctly and so it will not be rushed and "will take as long as it takes" to get it right.

Closure of Meeting

The President thanked the electors for their attendance and closed the meeting at 6.14pm

These minutes were confirmed at a meeting on /
Signed Cr SA Strange
Dated /